InfotechLead Award 2017 e-Governance Project – IRCTC

InfotechLead Award 2017 e-Governance Project – IRCTC, a prominent IT news website targeting IT decisions makers and CIOs at enterprises, government, SMBs and start-ups, today announced InfotechLead Award 2017.

IRCTC was selected as InfotechLead Award 2017 e-Governance Project.

IRCTC controls all the digital ticketing operations of Indian Railways. IT development team at IRCTC is selecting the right platform to ensure that customers are not facing downtime during heavy ticket-booking time.

IRCTC sold 209 million tickets via online platform in fiscal 2017, registering an increase of 5 percent from 199 million tickets sold in the previous fiscal. ICRTC’s payment gateway could collect Rs 24,485 crore in fiscal 2017 by selling 209 million tickets.

Investment in partnerships and technology is supporting IRCTC to stay ahead of competition. Launch of Pay on Delivery was an innovative step from IRCTC. The option would allow the user to pay at the time of delivery through any payment mode including cash. The service is available in more than 600 cities/towns covering more than 4000 pin codes.

IRCTC introduced mVisa payment solution. mVisa is a QR code based payment service that allows consumers a convenient scan and pay option through their smartphones. Users can link their Visa debit, credit or prepaid account to the mVisa application and make their travel bookings by scanning their mVisa Quick Response (QR) code on the IRCTC website.

Winners of InfotechLead Award 2017 were selected after individual consultation with the following jury members, who assembled at a major IT event in India end of last year.

# V Ananthanarayan, CIO of Sundaram Finance
# Rupinder Goel, CIO of Tata Communications
# Sanjeev Kumar, head of tech and security at Diageo
# Shijo Joseph, CIO of East West Seed
# GT Venkateshar Rao, IT department at Telengana Government
# Narendra Babu, DGM – IT at Ashok Leyland

Kizhakedath Media Services Pvt. Ltd., the publishers of, had received hundreds of nominations during the selection process.

“The jury members evaluated the winners based on the company’s contribution to the IT department, business outcome, their growth and the growth of their enterprise and individual clients,” Baburajan Kizhakedath, editor of, said.

[email protected]

Related News

Latest News

Latest News