India reveals achievements from digital payment schemes

Digital payments team from India government
National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI), which has been executing the digital payment scheme, said nearly 10 lakh consumers and merchants have received Rs 153.5 crore as reward money till 20 February, 2017.


# Among the 9.8 lakh winners, more than 9.2 lakh are consumers and 56,000 are merchants.

# 120 consumers have won prize money worth Rs 1 lakh each

# 4,000 merchants have won Rs 50,000 prize money each

# Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Delhi have emerged as the top five states / Union Territory(s) with maximum number of winners

# Winners belong to diverse socio-economic backgrounds, from farmers, merchants, small entrepreneurs, professionals, housewives, students to retired persons

# While majority of the winners are in the age group of 21 to 30, a significant number are also above 60 years of age

# The diversity in age of winners is from 15 to 66 years

NITI Aayog is organizing DigiDhanMelas at 110 cities across India, started from December 25, 2016. It will go on every day until April 14, 2017. Till date, 59 DigiDhanMelas have been organized to take the digital payments movement to the masses across the country.

NITI Aayog launched two schemes on December 25, 2016 – Lucky GrahakYojna (LGY) for consumers  and Digi-DhanVyaparYojna (DVY) for merchants to incentivize them and promote digital payments.

The two schemes will remain open till April 14, 2017.

There are 15,000 daily winners qualifying for total prize money of Rs. 1.5 crore. In additional to this there are over 14,000 weekly winners qualifying for total prize money of over Rs. 8.3 crore every week.

Customers and merchants using RuPay Card, BHIM / UPI (Bharat Interface for Money / Unified Payments Interface), USSD based *99# service and Aadhaar Enabled Payment Service (AePS) are eligible for wining daily and weekly lucky draw prizes.

Image: Amitabh Kant, CEO of NITI Aayog, briefing the media on Digital Payment Promotion, in New Delhi on February 21, 2017.

Related News

Latest News

Latest News